Take a journey with me!

IMG_4522

Where is your next journey? Mine? It’s through this 300 something page introductory textbook.

If you asked me 6 months ago, my journey would have looked much more different than today. I would be walking through the cobblestone streets of Paris with a Nutella crepe in one hand and my camera in the other. I would be admiring the amount of French language being spoken around me while also questioning my own ability to speak it. It was a much different journey from today.

As a child, I was never fond of material things and cared more for intangible moments. Travelling is and always will be a big part of my life. From the tender age of 2, my parents thought it was a good idea to take me on a 3-day long drive through the United States of America. Imagine! A toddler on a 72-hour long trip, possibly crying, whining, and pooping all the way through! Luckily for my parents, that toddler wasn’t me. It’s safe to say they lucked out and I wasn’t so bad to travel with after all. A couple of rest stops and sketchy motels later, we arrived in Florida where I had visited Disney World for the first time. From then on a yearly trip to the States was in order for the next 20 something years.

It is now 20+ years later and those 12-hour long drives have turned into 6-hour long flights and that 2-year-old toddler has turned into a young adult who has the rest of the world to see. I can say that I have been blessed in the past couple of years to see parts of the world not many has seen and gone to places people have never gone. And I owe it all to my parents for “training” me to appreciate the wonders of travel. In my lifetime, I have ridden on boats, cruise ships, planes, trains, and even a donkey. I have tried weird delicacies and have stepped out of my comfort zone just to get a full experience of a country’s culture.

Although I would rather be back in Paris eating delicious pastries and sipping lattes, I am here, in Winnipeg, creating this blog while storming up ideas for my next trip. I’m glad you have stumbled upon my blog page. This is dedicated to you, the reader, where I could share my travel experiences and help you create a journey of your own. I will share with you the awkward moments of when I had to speak unfamiliar languages, and share times when I didn’t know what country I was in. I’ll share tips and tricks I have learned through the years, and add my collection of pictures and videos that took my breath away. I just have one thing to ask of you, and it’s to open up your mind to what the rest of the world has to offer and I hope that this blog will inspire you to pack your things and go on a trip to see what the future has in store.

– Gisele

Leave a Reply

