9 Tourist Pictures You Need to Stop Taking (with pictures)

The peace sign, the “tip of the landmark” pose, the “tada”, we all know you’ve done these poses at one point in your lives (I know I have). You don’t necessarily need to be on a trip to do these but when you’ve seen one, you’ve seen all. If there is one indication of a tourist it would be the way they take pictures. Here is my list of top tourist poses you need to stop doing today! And ye be warned, I am guilty of all of these, so why not add some pictures to go along?!

The Landmark Poses

From my recent visit to Europe, I couldn’t help but go to the default poses such as pointing to the tip of the Eiffel Tower or taking a picture with a red telephone box in the UK. I saw quite a few during my visit. Don’t get me wrong, these are some of the things to cross off your bucket list so don’t shoot me down that I’ve done all of these poses they’re mandatory. I find them funny myself.

The Famous British Red Telephone Booth

DSCF1803

The “Touching the Eiffel Tower” in Paris

IMG_4522

The Anything to do with the Leaning Tower of Pisa

 

The default “let’s not look awkward” poses

I am typically an awkward person when it comes to taking pictures, so I default to certain poses so a beautiful view doesn’t go to waste. I usually don’t think when I take photos so I tend to recycle poses during different trips. Here’s a few that I’ve done once, twice of even three times at different locations and during different vacations.

The Tada!

What can I say? I get amazed at some sights and all I could think about is presenting it in the beauty that it is. Therefore the Tada! would be one of my default poses. I’m not a fan of serious pictures so the Tada would be my closest take on being photogenic.

The Thumbs Up

DSC02464

This could be seen two ways, in this case, I’m not sure if I’m doing a thumbs up because I’m excited to be at Disney California Adventures OR I just want to draw attention to the cool retro sign. Either way, this is a common tourist pose that I bet everyone is guilty of.

The Legs or Hotdogs?

There was this big craze a couple of years back where girls at the beach were obsessed with taking pictures of their legs. In my case, my legs look like raw chicken legs but in others, they look like two hot dogs. If you don’t know what I’m talking about check this page out to get a better picture. http://hot-dog-legs.tumblr.com

The Peace Sign

I’ve looked back at all my pictures and saw this one with the Swiss flag and said “Okay I get it, they’re a neutral country,” and a peace sign makes sense. But as I scrolled on, it seems to be another one of my default poses when I visited the Hollywood sign in LA.

The Jump Pose

11161735_10155463507155471_7982357577717392462_o

This one is fun, quirky and oh so hard to capture if you’re not fast enough. The jump pose could be seen in places where there is a lot of space to jump or less people to make fun of you when you fall flat on your face. To capture a jumping pose is an honest skill done by the subject in the picture as well as the photographer. Props to anyone who could look cool while jumping, I know I don’t.  This photo was taken on my trip to Puerto Vallarta. See more about my trip to Mexico here.

And the infamous front camera selfie

This pose is one that I’m both proud of and ashamed of. I’m not a big fan of asking people to take pictures of me so I resort to using my phone front camera. To be fair, it does the jobs, it gets both me and whatever I want to capture in the back the only problem is soon enough all your pictures will look the same!

In the end, I’m glad I got most of these travel photos out of the way and don’t regret any bit of them. As much ‘cliché’ these all are they are here to stay but just remember to put down the camera and enjoy the moment with your own eyes.

Until then, happy travels!

-Gisele

Leave a Reply

