What’s going on in the world?

As you may have noticed, I haven’t been updating on any recent trips as of late. Mostly because I’m busy in school but also because I’ve been preoccupied with the daily happenings going on in the world. I’m writing this right after reading about the tragic events that had happened in Nice, France. Before I go any further, I’d like to express my thoughts and deepest sympathy to those who were affected. As a traveler, I could never imagine something so horrible and devastating happening after such a beautiful celebration such as the Bastille Day.

For those who are visiting just for the sole reason of Bastille Day are forever scarred from the events that did happen. Instead of remembering the day for celebration, happiness, and cheer, visitors are left with an empty feeling of fear, loss, and sadness. So this leaves me to wonder how safe are people to travel to high tourism places? Are big events the next hotspots for terrorist attacks? It makes me question how the citizens of France will ever recover and even trust to leave their homes.

This example just makes me realize that this world is both small and big in ways that might not be easily explained but I’ll try to elaborate. It’s small in a way to say that acts of terrorism can happen anywhere, regardless of whether or not it’s a huge tourism location. On the other hand, it’s big in a way that unless all the hate, discrimination, and violence stop — tragic news will is alway occur somewhere! Hate will never run out unless real change is inflicted and citizens learn to care for each other. What’s sad is that it takes large-scale wrecks, deaths, and conspiracies for the public to take notice. I’m going on a bit of a rant but what I see happening left and right is concerning for myself and I know for some  fellow tourists and visitors.

3aea3ed70b1a335e8e47f531b6a018de

Who knows what will happen next? I don’t wanna be around to find out.

Gisele

Leave a Reply

